How to Use the Wheel of Life to Set Your Intentions for 2013

The 8 Sections of the Wheel of Life represent Balance.  By examining your life along all 8 of it’s dimensions, you can begin to examine the relative health of the various aspects of your life.  The sections represent the following areas:

a) Physical Environment

b) Career

c) Money

d) Health

e) Friends and Family

f) Relationship/Romance

g) Personal Growth

h)  Fun and Recreation


Seeing the center of the wheel as 0 and the outer edges as 10, rank your level of satisfaction with each area by drawing a straight or curved line to create a new outer edge. (See example).  The new perimenter represents the wheel of your life.  If this were a real wheel, how bumpy would the ride be?

In setting your intentions for the New Year, 2013, it is useful to use the wheel to find the areas where you might want to improve or make changes. Personally, I use the sections to guide me in setting an intention (or making a resolution) in each area.  For example:

Physical Environment: I intend to redecorate the den this year: buying a new sofa and giving it a fresh splash of paint.
Career: I intend to offer 2 new workshops for couples: one in Los Angeles, one in San Francisco.
Money: I intend to increase my annual income by 12%.
Health: I intend to lose 2% body fat and cut out my consumption of refined sugar.

And so forth.  You get the picture.  Your intentions, of course, will be specific to your life goals and the shape of your “wheel”.

Try it out. Have some fun and Happy New Year!

If you have any questions about the Wheel of Life or setting New Year’s intentions, feel free to contact me. I’ll be happy to guide you through the process.  I hope that you’ll be able to create a wheel… and a life… that really rolls this year!